My head is stuffy and I’ve been sleeping. A lot. Now, what does food do I eat when ill?
Chicken soup, of course! Just my usual chicken soup, as featured here, but if there’s none of that available, a can will do. The big secret? 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper. Hello sinuses. How are you, being sandblasted out of my head? Add more if you naturally have a higher tolerance for heat content.

If that doesn’t work, or only works for the half-hour after you’ve eaten it, well. Then. It is time for the big guns, as it were. See the hot toddy. This stuff kills – your sinuses, the germs, your soul….well, hopefully not the last, but it is pretty darn nasty, in my opinion. However, it works, and thus I keep at them.

In a tea cup, make hot tea with a LOT of lemon and honey. I don’t care if you don’t like either in your tea, I hate them both too. You want the citrus, and trust me. You want the sugar. Then, add 1 shot either whiskey, brandy, or rum – the highest proof non-vodka you have available. I don’t know why vodka wouldn’t work, probably because it lacks the unpleasantly painful flavor when hot. Now, heat that “tea” until it’s as hot as you can stand it.

Try to sip this. Do not chug, no matter how many times you’ve been told to get the medicine “over with.” It’s not tasty, as aforementioned, but it does work in my experience. However, alcohol does dehydrate you, so drink extra-extra water before and after this vile treatment. And sleep afterwards.

Feel better soon!

