Yesterday I cleaned the whole house from top to bottom. (Sometimes you just have the superwoman days, right?) Well, once I got done, I was exhausted. So I decided to have a dinner date night – because steak is that easy. I pulled a loaf of bread dough from the freezer, sprinkled rosemary and fresh parmesan all over the top. Yanked the steaks, rubbed them with olive oil and rosemary.

For a veggie, I made green bean salad again – this time I had a bit more experience making a dressing, so it came out much, much better, and I used more of the freshly grated parmesan on the top. Stuck that all back in the fridge.

10 minutes before Josh was due home, tossed the steaks on. Take that, Rachel Ray! probably 20 minutes of effort, even if 10 minutes of it was 3 hours before the rest of it. And I also managed to pull that off only getting 1 bowl, 1 saute pan, and then some plates dirty. Because I’m convinced – the meals may be 30 minutes, but clean up is at least 3 hours.

Tonight is mac and cheese, and Josh wants it completely and perfectly plain. No fancy cheese, no crazy spices. Just homemade mac and cheese. Thankfully, there’s Ace of Cakes tonight, so I won’t be completely bored – and it will taste good.

