Posting a little early today! The apple soup came out – well, Josh liked it. I didn’t so much, and these are my favorites, right? So, a Workshop – how to make applesauce.

It’s pretty simple, really. You melt about a tablespoon of butter and toss in some apple pie seasoning. To create, mix as follows:

1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp allspice

Toss in quite a bit of this, a tablespoon or so.

Then toss in your diced apples, three or four of them. And now, a tip! I don’t core my apples so much as I cut the middles out. I slice the apple into the usual 8 sections and then I lay them flat and slice the core piece out: imag0515.jpg

(Yes, I just use my countertop. It’s quite clean, and I don’t ever do meat this way. Promise)It looks like this when I’m all done:

imag0516.jpg

Okay, so then you finish by dicing, and then you just toss in with the butter. Coat the apples in the butter and let them hang out for a minute or two, and once everything smells appley, pour over a cup of liquid. You can use apple juice, liquor (!) or just water, like me. Steam them until fork-tender, and then just mash like potatoes.

You can also skin them, but I like my skins on. I also prefer to over-cook the first set of two, until it’s quite mushy and dark brown, and then I add the rest and cook those until just fork-tender and mash. Then you get a mix of textures I really like, but some people find that I am a freak of nature. So it’s really up to you.

Enjoy!

PS. The lovely photos were Josh’s handiwork. I cannot make my camera work properly ever, but he manages somehow. Unmanicured (and slightly sticky) hands are mine. 

