Life lately has been hectic at best. I missed not only the beloved Robert, but the amazingly hilarious Duff? What? I did manage to pull off dinner last night, and while it wasn’t 100% perfect, no new recipe ever is. I’m trying again Saturday.

We made Asian meatballs, which actually were perfect. It was the noodles we had a problem with. I wanted to make a fried noodle cake, like a cracker, but then the meatballs were left feeling very lonely and without any kind of texture. Despite the fried crunch. I think next time, I’ll do something more akin to asian spaghetti: make the noodles (buckwheat soba noodles) but not fry them, and use my brown sauce recipe for a “spaghetti” sauce.

The recipe!

1 lb ground beef
1/4 cup+ breadcrumbs
1 egg
1.5 teaspoons sesame oil
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
1 tablespoon minced garlic
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1/2 tablespoon brown sugar.

Stir everything but the meat and breadcrumbs together. Mix in meat, then crumbs, then egg. Pan fry for 3 minutes per side or until done.

They were so delicious, people. Oh my goodness! I loved the sesame oil, it really made the meatball. They were super-tender and incredibly flavorful. Tonight we’re eating subway (we’re going to a meeting and they’re buying) but I’m excited to try eating it on regular noodles with the delicious brown sauce. Despite the ethnic appeal, it’s definitely comfort food. If you’re looking for something classy, this isn’t it!

