and there’s nothing in my fridge to eat! I have a dinner – namely, hawaiian burgers, but right this minute I want breakfast.

What better for making breakfast than a frittata? But I am not up on my frittata recipes, so I search for it quickly and discover that there is no universal truth on what people stick in that egg mixture. Some on the quest required flour and coconut water (weird…) and others just wanted egg (don’t even bother with milk?).

Right. So we’re going to go with my favorite quiche recipe insides – a nice compromise from the various recipes I found, and really, what’s a frittata but a crustless quiche?

Frittata is a spectacular method to use up leftovers. Whatever you happen to have on hand that sounds good, and sounds good with what’s already inside – toss in! Last nights spinach and some fried chicken from earlier in the week? Sounds fine. Peppers and some sausage? Add some cheese and you’re good to go.

My final recipe, for this particular morning’s frittata:

6 eggs
1/2 cup milk
1 tablespoon flour (or parmasan cheese, if that’s appropriate for your fillings)
Fillings I chose
1 lb cooked ground sausage
4 oz pepperjack
4 oz colby jack
1 serrano pepper
cilantro
salt
pepper

Stir the eggs, milk, and flour in a bowl together with seasonings. Add cheese and sausage, continue stirring. Bake for 15 minutes at 400 degrees, or until set. (My oven is terribly spotty and my oven thermometer easily confusable and suspicious. Your milage may vary, and check often!)

