As you might have noticed (no review of the Food Network Challenge last night) I was definitely at work. So I made man-man food. I also wasn’t at home when it was consumed, so: well, we’ll see how that goes.

I started in the morning, I boiled up a box of macaroni noodles and sauted up a pound of hamburger (big, deep skillet, you’re making a sauce in here later) and put taco seasonings on it (chili, cumin, salt, garlic powder – or you can use a packet). I put this all on a plate to reserve it, but I didn’t wipe out the skillet.

Then I made the cheese sauce: start with about 4 tablespoons of roux in your skillet and make your bechamel. I made mine very, very loose, as you’re adding a LOT of cheese. I used oil instead of butter in the roux, used more oil than flour, and a LOT of milk. Then I shredded about a quarter of a pack of pepperjack into my bechamel, as well as nearly 2 cups of cheddar. Lots of cheese. Sauce should now be relatively thick again. However, your noodles should also be done. Drain them, but it’s okay if there’s water still in the bottom.

So you stir the hamburger, cheese, and noodles together (I recommend using the noodle pot unless your skillet is deeper than mine). Then, put the whole lot into a baking pan. Top with bread chunks (you could also use crumbs, but Josh and housemate prefer 1″ or so chunks that get super crisp and braised in the oven.)

Then? I stuck it in the fridge, and put a note on Housemate’s (he always gets home first)  computer to put the oven on 400 degrees and when it was preheated, put the macaroni in for 1/2 hour.

And that’s what I do when I’m feeling nice. Otherwise, I make them make hamburger helper.

