I see I get no help from the likes of you people.

However, I will press on in my search for delicious Filipino food.

Anyway, so last night I went all out American and had barbecued chicken, though it wasn’t grilled. I mourn, oh how I mourn, not owning a grill. Not that I know how to grill – mom wouldn’t let me near the thing as a child – but Josh does, and I could do the June Cleaver thing and hand him prepared meat while making the green bean salad. But we’ll get to that.

I par-boil ALL meat that is intended to be grilled. Even when it’s actually going to be grilled. This is usually where I get my stock from, actually – I’ll boil the chicken with carrots and onions and celery, and then I just yank the chicken to be barbecued and put on platter. Then you just stick that into plastic containers and into your freezer.

So you par-boil your chicken. I did a whole chicken (The housemate thought we were supposed to eat all of it. My heaven, it was five pounds!) so we’d have leftovers – and so I could get dark meat and Josh and housemate could get white meat. They are weird. I can’t fathom anyone who is willing to down 1000+ calorie meals actively wanting the dieter’s meat. But they do.

So I just cut the pieces up, boiled them all for about 15 minutes, or until the dark meat was done (it’ll take longer, so you might want to yank the already-dry, nasty bits early so they aren’t any more nasty than they have to be. Yes, I am horribly prejudiced with my food.) Then I slathered the monkey out of them with KC Masterpiece Hickory Brown Sugar. Your choice of BBQ here. Stick in broiler for 10 minutes, or until it smells delicious and is kind of crispy. Then turn over, repeat. Grill if you can.

However, the experiment! You know, the actual recipe. Hah.

So I decided yesterday that I would acquire a new skill, the skill of homemade dressing. So I looked up a recipe. The recipe came out pretty poorly, so I won’t link to it. However, it wasn’t anything a bit of sugar and more vinegar couldn’t (mostly) fix.

In a blender, I stuck 4 tablespoons balsamic vinegar with a teaspoon full of minced garlic and a teaspoon full of Dijon mustard. Blend until nice and uniform. Then, if your blender has a small hole in the top like mine, take off whatever lid is covering that top, and while the blender is merrily whirring, pour in 3/4 cup olive oil.

Wow, it was thick. Like, ranch is thin like water, comparatively. Wow, it tasted absolutely nothing like Balsamic vinegar, and we really like balsamic vinegar, so this was a problem. I added 2 more tablespoons. And some sugar to cut the part where it tasted like white vinegar. All the nasty, none of the good. It was mostly saved – by no means was it the best vinaigrette ever, but it was edible and smelled pretty heavenly. It just had an aftertaste.

So I had previously blanched some green beans, which were sitting in a bowl in my freezer. I poured this onto them, and then added some goat cheese.

Okay, so the dressing was not intended for human consumption on salad. However, if you let it sit on green beans for an hour or two, the beans soak up the nasty part, and you’re left with something not bad. Before you go saying, Liz, you’re supposed to let it sit anyway! I did, I let some sit all by itself in the fridge, hoping that it’d be better overnight. Having just tried some, it’s not. The sink had a delicious vinaigrette breakfast. But the green beans are still pretty good!

However, having now done this once, I’m tremendously excited to try again. I know the theory behind dressing, and what proportions give me tar-muck thickness. Next time, Gadget. Next time, I’ll get you!

